Hirofumi Fujiwara
Gary Schlingheider
utopians & playgrounds
16.3.–14.4. 2018
galerie burster, berlin

Opening: 16.3. 2018  7 – 9 pm

We are pleased to present Utopians & Playgrounds, the very first duo exhibition of Hirofumi Fujiwara and Gary Schlingheider at galerie burster Berlin.

Hirofumi Fujiwara (*1984 in Hiroshima, Japan) graduated in 2015 as a master student of Prof. Stephan Balkenhol at the Staatliche Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe. His human sculptures, modelled from clay and plastic, stand, sit or lie in the exhibition space, reposing, transparent walls are surrounding their fragile bodies. Fujiwara’s Utopians bear witness to a romantic longing for the unreachable, with a contemplative view towards the indefinite. Oscillating between the two worlds, Fujiwara’s sculptures bear references from the Japanese as well as the European Western culture.

They seem youthful and yet ageless, androgynous and detached from all stereotypes – isolated from this world, yet resting in the very moment, anchored in pure just-being. In our increasingly fast-moving, ever-changing society, Fujiwara’s Utopians embody both longing and ideal.

Gary Schlingheider (*1983 in Detmold, Germany) graduated from the Universität der Künste Berlin 2017 as a master student of Prof. Christine Streuli. In the same year he won the Meisterschülerpreis des Präsidenten as well as the Diffring Prize for Sculpture. In Schlingheider’s works, his steel objects of the 30mm, Playground and 3Dplus series, as well as in his paintings, aesthetic reduction and a powerfully minimalist formal language come together. His works oscillate between installation, sculpture and painting, between space, form and color, between one- and multi-dimensionality. Line and space are in inseparable relationship to each other.

Schlingheider’s works bear witness to the ability to liberate a geometric form from any emotions and meanings, isolating it from every unnecessary aspect. Once reduced to its essence and freed from any emotional kitsch, it first opens up its uncompromising aesthetic, then its unlimited possibilities of interpretation: Schlingheider’s works are frame and image at the same time, empty space and space for thought, limitation and open space.

Altough the two artistic positions of Fujiwara and Schlingheider may seem opposed at first glance, they both have – in their respective definition of presence in space – the quest for subtlety and beauty as common denominator. For both, the aesthetic dimension of their work is primary.

Utopians & Playgrounds presents a wonderfully refreshing view of both figurative and abstract works of painting, sculpture and installation celebrating an unconditional, an absolute being.

press release
invitation

Hirofumi Fujiwara
Gary Schlingheider
utopians & playgrounds
16.3.–14.4. 2018
galerie burster, berlin

Eröffnung: 16.3. 2018  19 – 21 h

Wir freuen uns, mit Utopians & Playgrounds die erste gemeinsame Ausstellung der beiden Künstler Hirofumi Fujiwara und Gary Schlingheider in der galerie burster Berlin zu präsentieren.

Hirofumi Fujiwara (*1984 in Hiroshima, Japan) graduierte 2015 als Meisterschüler von Prof. Stephan Balkenhol an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe. Seine aus Ton und Kunststoff modellierten Figuren stehen, sitzen oder liegen im Raum, in sich ruhend, transparente Mauern umgeben ihre zerbrechlichen Körper. Fujiwaras Utopians sind Schwärmer; sie zeugen von einer romantischen Sehnsucht nach Unerreichbarem, sie bewegen sich zwischen den Welten. Ihr kontemplativer Blick ins Unbestimmte gerichtet, tragen sie Referenzen des japanischen wie auch europäischwestlichen Kulturkreises mit sich.

Sie scheinen jugendlich und doch alterslos, androgyn und losgelöst von jeglichen Stereotypen – isoliert vom Diesseits, aber doch ganz im Moment, im So-Sein verankert. In unserer sich immer schneller bewegenden, stets nach Modifikation ausgerichteten Gesellschaft verkörpern Fujiwaras Utopians zugleich Sehnsucht und Ideal.

Gary Schlingheider (*1983 in Detmold, Deutschland) beendete sein Studium an der Universität der Künste Berlin 2017 als Meisterschüler von Prof. Christine Streuli. Im selben Jahr gewann er den Meisterschülerpreis des Präsidenten sowie den Diffring Preis für Skulptur. In Schlingheiders Arbeiten, sowohl den Stahlobjekten der Serien 30mm, Playground und 3Dplus, wie auch in seiner Malerei, treffen ästhetische Reduktion und kraftvoll minimalistische Formsprache aufeinander. Er bewegt sich stets zwischen Installation, Skulptur und Malerei, zwischen Raum, Form und Farbe, zwischen Ein- und Mehrdimensionalität. Linie und Raum stehen im untrennbaren Verhältnis zueinander.

Schlingheiders Arbeiten zeugen von der Fähigkeit, eine Form von Emotionen und Bedeutungen zu lösen, sie von allem Ballast zu isolieren. Auf ihr Wesen reduziert und von jeglichem gefühlsgeladenen Kitsch befreit, eröffnet sich erst ihre kompromisslose Ästhetik, dann ihre unbegrenzten Interpretationsmöglichkeiten:

Schlingheiders Arbeiten sind Rahmen und Bild zugleich, Leerraum und Denkraum, Begrenzung und Freiraum.

So gegensätzlich die beiden künstlerischen Positionen Fujiwaras und Schlingheiders auf den ersten Blick scheinen, finden doch beide – in ihrer jeweiligen Definition von Präsenz im Raum – in Subtilität und Schönheit zueinander. Für beide steht die ästhetische Dimension ihrer Arbeiten im Vordergrund.

Utopians & Playgrounds zeigt einen wunderbar erfrischenden Blick auf sowohl figurative als auch abstrakte Arbeiten der Malerei, Skulptur und Installation und zelebriert in der komplexen Einfachheit ihrer jeweiligen Formsprachen ein bedingungsloses, ein absolutes Sein.

Pressemitteilung
einladung