abstract.

Enrico bach
Enne haehnle
Kristian Pettersen
maria schumacher

26.4.–2.6. 2018
galerie burster, berlin

opening: thursday, 26 April 2018  7 – 9 pm

In our group show abstract. we are pleased to not only unite the four participating artists Enrico Bach, Enne Haehnle, Kristian Pettersen and Maria Schumacher for the very first time in one exhibition, but to also work with each of them for the very first time.

As the exhibition title already suggests, abstract. presents works without a mimetic object reference, allowing only internal relations to form, color, space and non-space.

From the wealth of compositional possibilities that are available if they are not predetermined by a motive to be imaged, all of the four artistic positions shown are united in intimations – using gestures that can contain a meaning but do not necessarily have to:

Enne Haehnle’s sculptures and installations show a dynamic line which, after some time of careful examination, first formes into words, then into fragments of sentences, poetic texts, but in their three-dimensionality only readable from certain perspectives. A changing play of abstraction and readability unfolds, which remains intangible even within any possible means of interpretation.

Enrico Bach’s paintings are self-reflection on the fundamental questions of pictorial architecture: In his compositions, depth spatiality meets colored surface painting and two-dimensionality meets spatial constructions. Thus, Bach’s layered color and pattern surfaces create the illusion of a more or less deep space. At the same time, he leaves the conventional compositional pattern of a centered motif behind: The image’s edges and background become deeper levels that are often overlain by large-scale monochrome, but not homogenous surfaces.

The illusion of depth in, on and behind a canvas can also be found in Kristian Pettersen‘s sculptural wall objects. His work is characterized by the direct examination of form, material and surface texture. His works act self-referentially, resulting from a moment of possibility. An inkling of what lies behind, what once was – or could have been.

Maria Schumacher‘s paintings often emerge in an intuitive process. A complex creative approach interplays with spontaneous gestures giving rise and insight in each single biography of her works, in which transparent, delicate surfaces are touched by rough, almost rabid gestures, sometimes even being overwritten by them. Schumacher allows these moments and points of contact to emerge in the creative process, creating a signature that can be both ending and starting point of a new process.

abstract. unites the subjective selection of newly produced and already existing works by four artists, whose works mean a respective reaction to their specific questions and investigations on non-object related art.

abstract. brings together painting, sculpture and installation of four artistic positions, whose works were not only generated solely out of one question alone – detached from any reference to concrete objectivity, their works stand for themselves and with a pure pleasure of color, form, space, non-space, a pleasure in just–being.

invitation
press release

abstract.

Enrico bach
Enne haehnle
Kristian Pettersen
maria schumacher

26.4.–2.6. 2018
galerie burster, berlin

Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 26. April 2018  19 – 21 h

Wir freuen uns, mit  abstract. die vier KünstlerInnen Enrico Bach, Enne Haehnle, Kristian Pettersen und Maria Schumacher nicht nur erstmals gemeinsam in einer Ausstellung zu vereinen, sondern mit ihnen auch zum ersten Mal zusammenzuarbeiten. So präsentiert abstract. – der Titel lässt es wohl erahnen – Arbeiten, die losgelöst und ganz ohne mimetischen Gegenstandsbezug, allein innere Relationen zu Form, Farbe, Raum und Nicht-Raum gelten lassen.

Aus der Fülle an Kompositionsmöglichkeiten, die zur Verfügung stehen wenn diese nicht durch ein abzubildendes Motiv vorgegeben sind, vereinen sich alle der vier gezeigten künstlerischen Positionen in Andeutungen – Gesten, die bedeuten können, aber nicht müssen:

Enne Haehnles Skulpturen und installative Arbeiten lassen eine dynamische Linienführung erkennen, die sich nach einiger Zeit der genauen Betrachtung erst zu Worten, dann Satzfragmenten formt, poetische Texte, in ihrer Dreidimensionalität aber nur aus bestimmten Perspektiven lesbar. So entfaltet sich in ihren Werken ein wechselndes Spiel aus Abstraktion und Lesbarkeit, das selbst innerhalb jeglicher Deutungsmöglichkeiten ungreifbar bleibt.

Enrico Bachs Malereien sind Selbstreflexion über grundsätzliche Fragen der Bildarchitektur: In seinen Bildkompositionen trifft Tiefenräumlichkeit auf Farbflächenmalerei und Zweidimensionalität auf räumliche Konstruktionen. So lassen Bachs geschichtete Farb- und Musterflächen die Illusion eines mehr oder weniger tiefen Raumes entstehen. Gleichzeitig lässt er das konventionelle Kompositionsmuster eines zentrierten Motivs hinter sich: Bildrand und Hintergrund werden zu tiefengebenden Gestaltungsebenen welche auf großflächige monochrome, aber nicht homogene Elemente treffen.

Die Illusion von Tiefe auf oder besser hinter der Leinwand lässt sich auch in Kristian Pettersens Wandobjekten und skulptural-installativen Arbeiten finden. Sein Werk zeichnet die direkte Auseinandersetzung mit Form, Material und Oberflächenbeschaffenheit aus. Auch seine Arbeiten agieren selbstreferenziell, entstanden aus einer Möglichkeit. Eine Andeutung auf das was sich dahinter verbirgt, das was einmal war – oder gewesen sein könnte.

In einem intuitiven Prozess entstehen oftmals auch Maria Schumachers Malereien. Ein vielschichtiger Schaffensprozess im Wechselspiel mit spontanen Gesten lassen die jeweilige Biografie ihrer Bilder entstehen, in der transparente, zarte Flächen von groben, fast rabiaten Gesten berührt, manchmal auch überschrieben werden. Schumacher lässt diese Momente und Berührungspunkte im Entstehungsprozess zu und damit eine Signatur entstehen, die sowohl Ende aus auch Anfangspunkt eines neuen Gestaltungsprozesses bedeuten kann.

So vereint abstract. die subjektive Auswahl von neu produzierten und bereits bestehenden Arbeiten von vier KünstlerInnen, deren Werke eine jeweilige Reaktion auf ihre spezifischen Fragestellungen und Untersuchungsweisen zu Nicht-Gegenstandsbezogener Kunst bedeuten.

abstract. bringt Malerei, Skulptur und Installation von vier künstlerischen Positionen zusammen, deren Werke aber nicht nur allein aus einer Fragestellung heraus generiert wurden – losgelöst von jeder Referenz zur konkreten Gegenständlichkeit stehen ihre Werke für sich selbst, pur und aus Lust an Farbe, Form, Raum, Nicht-Raum, Lust am So – Sein.

Einladung
Pressemitteilung